Edith Crash Frenzy - Photo cover by Florencia P. Marano . Graphic Design by Kote Garcia (A.K.A. Berberecho Productions)

Frenzy (2019)

Title : Frenzy
Release Date : November 1, 2019
Catalog ref. : SWR02
Format : Vinyl

Edith Crash vinyl

Special red edition vinyl available on Bandcamp and Light In The Attic






Press :
New Noise Video Premiere (US)
Mondo Sonoro (ES)
Flood Video Premiere (US)
Buzzbands LA  (US)
L’Independant (FR)

Radio Host, DJ picks :

Nic Harcourt – 88.5 FM – Mornings with Nic Harcourt : “Running”
Henry Rollins : KCRW : “Keepsake”, “Congratulations”, “Frénésie”
Valida – KCRW : “Ton Ombre”
Kevin Cole – KEXP – The Afternoon Show : “Hope”, “Running”
DJ Chilly – KEXP – El Sonido : “Guárdame”
DJ Fifi LaRoux – KUCI : “Frénésie”


The one-woman-band hailed as a “Favorite Discovery of SXSW 2016” by NPR’s All Songs Considered and called an “intense French blues exile” by The Guardian is back with a fourth album: Frenzy. After a year of songwriting and sound experimentations in a friend’s LA garage, Crash cruised to New York to finish the album in Brooklyn’s Studio G with co-producer Jeff Berner, of Psychic TV, then back to LA to have the nine songs mastered by Bernie Grundman, (of Prince, Dr. Dre, Marilyn Manson, and Michael Jackson’s Thriller, among others).

The collection offers more of Crash’s multifaceted solo work with her on drums, synths, guitar, vocals and found noises along with collaborations on “Ton Ombre” and “Out of Sight” with her former producer Alain Johannes (Eleven, Queens Of The Stone Age, PJ Harvey, and Mark Lanegan) playing guitar. Lyrics range from whispers to screams in French, Spanish and English, revealing the roots of the artist who has honed her craft since childhood in France by way of Spain, and landing in Los Angeles in 2013.

In something of a departure from her last album, Partir, a meditation on the loss of her mother, Crash has worked some upbeat notes into the dark electronic web of Frenzy. Songs ranging from the melodic ambiance of cuts like “Keepsake” to the utterly danceable “Hope” illustrate an artist emerging from grief, inspired to seize every moment, embracing the nuances of the title.

Frenzy here is about an emotional agitation going from extreme euphoria to madness, flirting with all the feelings in between in an unstoppable whirl, craving to devour every second of life,” says Crash. “Before writing this record, I literally witnessed the passing of two of the most important persons in my life, this and the energy of L.A really shaped the songs. This city can be a tornado of so much doing and achieving, this is also such an extreme place where the most beautiful and horrifying stories coexist.” The love song, Guárdame, was written for her wife Florencia P. Marano, the photographer behind the album’s cover art and director of accompanying video for Ton Ombre.
Crash cites Portishead, Sisters of Mercy and Dead Can Dance as major influences, but the voice and musical chops driving Frenzy are all uniquely her own.


Recorded at 
Studio G Brooklyn, engineered by Jeff Berner, assistant engineer Alexis Berthelot
and PSA Shack Studio LA, engineered by Edith Crash
Frénésie, Ton Ombre, Congratulations mixed by Jeff Berner
Silence, Running, Guárdame, Hope, Keepsake and Out Of Sight mixed by Edith Crash

Mastered by Bernie Grundman

Produced by Edith Crash and Jeff Berner
All songs written and composed by Edith Crash
Photography by Florencia P. Marano
Graphic Design by Kote Garcia (A.K.A. Berberecho Productions)

Ton Ombre
Alain Johannes : Guitar Loop
Jeff Berner : Ebow, Synths, Lap Steel
Edith Crash : Drum Machine, Guitar, Synths, Vocals, Noises

Jeff Berner : Synths
Edith Crash : Drum Machine, Guitars, Vocals

Edith Crash : Drums, Guitar, Organ, Vocals

Jeff Berner : Backing Vocals
Edith Crash : Drum Machine, Guitars, Vocals, Synths

Edith Crash : Drums, Guitar, Vocal

Jeff Berner : Synths, Ebow
Edith Crash: Drum Machine, Synths, Vocals, Noises

Jeff Berner : Synths
Edith Crash : Drums, Guitars, Vocals, Synths

Jeff Berner : Synths
Edith Crash : Drum Machine, Guitars, Synths, Vocals

Out Of Sight
Alain Johannes : Ebow, Gizmotron
Jeff Berner :  Synths
Edith Crash : Guitars, Ebow, Brooklyn Subway Samples, Data Corrupter, Vocals